What To Do When Your Plans Fall Out (SUMMER)

Whenever I think of summer, I think of that opening sequence of High School Musical 2. The repeated whispers of ‘Summer’ create an anticipation that is understood and repeated by college students all over the world. ( generally). That was me three to four months ago and how quickly the time has passed…

This post as I so aptly named it, is what you can do when your plans fall out- the Summer edition. Before summer started, I had it in my head that I would get an internship because I was spending the summer in New York City. This didn’t happen, but I had other means to keep myself entertained.

 

1. Look for other opportunities

While I was waiting for a response, I knew I might not get an internship so I started looking around. I looked at some other internships at smaller companies whose application deadlines were still open, and I also looked at department stores for the average summer job. Any job was better then no job- I’d still be getting paid!

It ended up being that there were no open positions this summer which lead to me finding other ways of spending my summer.

2. Volunteer, Volunteer, Volunteer!

Volunteering is great. It feels really good to help out in some way and it benefits you. You have something you do, that makes you feel good about yourself and you use your time doing something positive. Every since I was little, I’ve had a passion for books and reading so it made sense for me to apply at the library. I applied but while my application was processing, the library had other volunteering opportunities available.

One of them was Summer Meals where children from eighteen and under are given free lunch that might not be available when the school year is over. My tip is to try to volunteer doing something you’re passionate about. You’ll enjoy doing it more than if it was an assigned volunteer opportunity (I give that tip through previous experience).

Just because your plans fall out doesn’t mean the world is over, go out there and do something! Do anything you think will help you grow as a person, whether it’s personally or career wise

3. Find Other Things to Occupy Your Time

So option 1. and 2. were okay but internships/jobs end and so does volunteering. Sometimes, you need a bit of leisure time added to your schedule. I needed something else. but what else is there to do? Plenty.

I was lucky to be in New York City and have tons other things to do. I did a lot of shopping, I went out and visited Brooklyn Museum . I went to the library and stocked up on tons of books. (That probably doesn’t sound like fun to a lot of people, but as someone who loves books, it was the best thing ever!)

I also looked at the parks around the city. A lot of them, that I hadn’t heard about before this summer, have a lot of free programs and activities that you can do. A personal favorite of mine is Bryant Park. It has a lot of free games, workshops and productions- you just have to check the schedule and make plans. Even if you just go into the city to have lunch, it’s good to get out and explore!

Of course there are things I wished I had gone to, such as the Botanical Gardens and the Rockettes Summer Spectacular but I’m happy with what I did accomplish this summer.

There are plenty of ways to enjoy yourself. You just have to look for them.

 

Leave a Reply

