Review Thursdays: The Warrior Heir

So I just finished reading The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima .

My first impression on reading the summary: Oh this seems like an English, battle of the roses thing but fiction. This seems interesting . ( I also had a slight thing for The Tudors drama so I researched the whole history on the battle of the roses, it was very interesting).

My opinion: ⭐️⭐️ (2/5 stars)

The plot of the book was very interesting. Chinda took the idea of the battle of the roses and used that as a base for a more fantasy type of novel. However I believe it could have been executed a bit better. I found that the pace of the book started out very slow for me. There were a lot of establishing information but it felt like it dragged on.

It also felt like it was repeating information that was given before. I understood the information had to be given like that because Jack, as a character was being told directly about  the history and definitions of this new world. However the way this information was first introduced, it was done in a simple manner, so I felt as if there was no need to repeat the information as I understood it already.

We follow the journey of our main character- a sixteen year old boy call Jackson “Jack” Swift. Maybe because it was form a teenage’s boy point of view, maybe because it’s set in Ohio. Whatever the reason, the first half of the book felt slow and repetitive. It only began to pick up in the second half.

The second half of the book which involves the tournament and the revelations of hidden agendas and the frenzy surrounding the tournament moves at a much faster pace. and it continues at a steady pace until the book is finished.

Overall the idea of the book is interesting, but it could have been executed much better. I give it two stars- for engaging me in the second half wen I felt “meh”about the entire thing.

What are you thoughts? Ideas? Let me know. Comment below.

 

Leave a Reply

